NaNoWhyMo?

I count my years in Novembers.  I feel through days in numbers.  Alphabets spiral as my children sing their ABC’s and I can’t for the life of me see clear of Thanksgiving.

There is 1 hour and 12 minutes until NaNoWriMo begins.

Last year, I all but lost my mind.  Everything went all ugly and green and gray while my husband worked excessive hours and my children shrieked with anger.  When Daddy works too much, everyone pays.  Except his job, because Daddy don’t get no overtime,  just more work piled on, piled on.

And I tried to focus, to hone in on the big picture–the story, my memoir.  Then I wondered if there even was a story.  Then I realized there wasn’t, that starting a memoir with no starting place was danger in itself, that a whole life can’t be summarized in a day, that a whole family can’t be written.  And still.

And still, I’m going to try it again.

I’m picking up my memoir where I left off, right here, in this blog.  It has been an entire year since I thought I could get a grip on what I need to say.  It has been an entire year since I sat at the desk with my head on my arms crying at a stupid computer screen that didn’t give a rat’s ass if I sat there or not.

It has been an entire year of experimentation, of playing writing games, of playing writer.

Of writing.

And that’s at least a little something.

The secret of NaNoWriMo isn’t in winning, exactly.  It’s in doing.  It’s in being.  It’s in effort.  And fuck if I don’t have effort.

So sign me up again, buddy boy.  I’m going to kick it in the teeth.

Who’s with me?

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in memoir writing, NaNoWhyMo, NaNoWriMo, rebellion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to NaNoWhyMo?

  1. Susan @ 2KoP says:

    Oh, baby, we’re both crazy. And technically, breaking NaNo rules by writing memoir and not fiction, but hey … that’s just the kind of crazy, rule-breakin’ gals we are. Luck to us both.

  2. pennyjars says:

    I learned from the amazing Beth Lowe that we’re not really breaking rules, we’re Nano rebels, and rebellion is something I can sink my teeth into. Write on!

  3. The RPGrrl says:

    Best of luck on your project, fellow NaNo-er. I expect there will be plenty of tears… but I try to think about how good I’ll feel when I hit the end of the month and have 50,000 words hammered out, and all the discipline and strong habits I will have cultivated in the month ahead… I hope it sticks. That’s what all the authors say, isn’t it? In order to write, you must simply WRITE. Neil Gaiman says something along the lines of “Put one word after the other. It’s that simple, and that hard.” What’s your NaNoWriMo reg name? I’ll buddy you up and cheer you on!

  4. Lisa says:

    I’m in this year! (after having signed up in 2006 without ever participating) 😀

    My NaNoWriMo name: Yoda

  5. Eglentyne says:

    Kick it in the teeth, baby! We can do it, yes we can! 😉

  6. kimkircher says:

    I found you through SheWrites, and I’m glad I did. I love your blog. Best of luck with NaNo. Bring it!

  7. pennyjars says:

    Kim,

    Thanks for stopping by. Lots of She Writes love here. Thanks for the Nano boost. It’s nothing compared to your “regular” days, but it’ll do. Ski patrol?! Ouch. 🙂

  8. Jacque says:

    I’m going for it this year too. I made it through exactly 1 day last year. Here’s for going for 2 days + 28 this year in kicking off my year of doing. Wishing you all the best. Your story is there. Set it free!

  9. Pingback: Readers & Writers United (1st edition) « Elsie Stills

  10. mandeesears says:

    One story at a time Victoria, remember: Bird by Bird!
    Great blog and good luck. Effort is all you need! LOL

    Mandee

  11. pennyjars says:

    I like the way you think, Mandee 😉

  12. “The secret of NaNoWriMo isn’t in winning, exactly. It’s in doing. It’s in being.”

    Yes, yes; I love it.

    MT

  13. pennyjars says:

    And now…time to Do 🙂

  14. Dear Ms. Pennyjars,
    Am I mistaken or have we met in another universe? Your voice so distinct and recognizable, I’d be surprised if it wasn’t in a national newspaper, rather than the parlor of one of your and my lady friends. I dare say my dearest Pennyjars, you of all people have something to say that needs to be heard. Might I suggest being the youngest could at times be compared to being an only child? Discovery of self after all is the tail end that whips hardest and bruises most likely the tender soul of the budding writer’s brain. Enough said already. Let’s buddy up at NaNo and beat them sisters and brothers at Word War.
    Ever more, yours in writerly companionship,
    DutchessAbroad

  15. pennyjars says:

    Judith! You do so know me, E. Victoria Flynn via She Writes and Twitter and blah blah blah. Write hard, baby, you got it.

Leave a Reply

