Memoir Moon

Tonight I did my words.  They were nothing.  I poked the internet, did the dishes, emptied the trash.  The kids and I have been in the house for days, bound by sickness and rain.  It’s still November.  I write.

But when the words were done, I opened the neglected side door, now a ruin of cobwebs and dust–like we don’t even live here, like the words have finally had their way–and I noticed how cold it’s become, how late in the season, and how quiet.

The moon was just behind the old maple tree, a three-quarter moon, showing off.

There were clouds encircling it, blue, green, even pink.  They didn’t move.  They were absolutely frozen as if I were looking down into a deep December pond.  I felt like the frog princess looking into the spring, looking for lost treasure.

I stood in the driveway with the moon deciding which of us was up and which was down.  I thought of ice skating and how hard it is to do on a frozen stream with all its bumps and pot holes. It’s so late, even now.  I heard chimes outside the neighbor’s door; could smell the onset of winter.

I know the story now, the memoir I’m writing.  It’s the story I don’t want to write, like it’s been said and written so many times by so many, many people.  It’s all about an insecure little girl from a great, big family and how she grows up all on her own.  She’ll misunderstand a lot of things.  She’ll suck her finger.  She’ll be weird.  But she’ll come out fine in the end.

Finer than frog’s hair.

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in divorce, memoir writing, penny jar, truth, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Memoir Moon

  1. Julie Jeffs says:

    Your story, although it seems familiar, is different because it is yours and it is one that you need to tell and many of us want to hear. And yah, I think fine is an understatement, you came out fabulous.

  2. Jacque says:

    I think it’s great that you can say “I know the story now.” You may not think so, but that’s huge. Now just write it down. Get it down because you’re a writer, and that’s your gift for the world. Can’t wait to read it!

    • pennyjars says:

      Thanks so much, Jacque. I’ve spent the better part of two years trying to figure out the story. I’m not sure how it will be told, but I’ll trust that temperamental muse.

  3. kario says:

    Gorgeous! I have goosebumps just reading this.

  4. 2kop says:

    “now a ruin of cobwebs and dust–like we don’t even live here, like the words have finally had their way”

    No one else could write this beauty in the ruins of the season. No one but you.

  5. Pingback: Throw me Thursday: Totems | Penny Jar

Leave a Reply

