Pause

We lost an old friend recently. His funeral was yesterday. While I certainly didn’t know him as well as many others I’m close to, there is a significant part of my story that has been altered.

It’s hard to notice personal change. Our bodies move imperceptibly along an ebbing margin. Only when we cross into the presence of others who’ve gone from our constant sight do we realize ourselves. What ten years or twenty can do.

In a photograph, I saw the face of time and struggle. I felt how much distance there is between people and how easy it is to let go.

And when it isn’t.

Today it seems the radio is remembering a young death and reminding me of the good times and the weird times and the hard times when we ran in foggy circles together.

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in friendship, music, relationships, truth, wildness. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pause

  1. Tiffany Green says:

    This is a lovely piece, Victoria. I didn’t know either him or his late brother well, but the world seems to have lost beautifully kaleidoscopic souls. I really like the way you express the strange passage of time. My heart goes out to his friends and family.

  2. Beth Hoffman says:

    Beautiful and delicate and deeply aware — wonderful post, Victoria.

  3. pennyjars says:

    Thank you for reading, Beth. 🙂

  4. kario says:

    You hit it exactly on the money. Your words fit the mood and put me right there.

  5. Kelley says:

    What a beautiful song! I am so sorry you lost someone recently. I go through times where I think of death a lot. It is odd that it is so natural but so hard to accept. I can’t stand it. I hope your heart feels better soon.

Leave a Reply

