Throw me Thursday: Little Nipper

One of the best things about pregnancy is dreaming. Huge, hormone inflicted dreams pulse with a prolific force and sound–a cacophony of explosive joy. Innate perceptions plunged deep within the collective subconscious purge in volcanic spasms–worry, fear, desire. Churning diatribes and preambles punctuated by leg cramps so gouging as to rip you from your trance and bring you to tears only to have the inner whoosh and blood return you to rest overrun with a raw, animalistic charge.

No sleep is too much. No dream too deep.

When I lay one night, a giant puff of a woman, stuffed among pillows and quilts and buried in mind between thoughts of breastfeeding and birth blood, my daughter was born to the dream world.

I hadn’t known, yet, it was a girl tucked deep beneath my bones and muscle, only that she had a name were she to be my daughter; but this night a girl came forth squalling and blue-eyed and deep, darkish pink. “Ivy,” I said and held her.

Nurses came and went and carted and talked.

A plastic bassinet arrived.  Ivy watched with eyes wide open. I talked and cooed and mothered. “Are you sleepy?” I asked. She opened her mouth, a full set of teeth already grown in, “No, Mom,” she said, “I want to nurse first.”

Thanks for the birth of this story go to Lisa Rivero (@lisa_rivero) for the following video suggestion and Dani Smith for her recent blog post. These are terrific ladies, treat them well.

And since we’re on the topic, what’s one of your most memorable dreams?

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in Throw me Thursday, truth, Weird and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Throw me Thursday: Little Nipper

  1. Lisa says:

    Oh, Victoria, this nearly (nearly, mind you) makes me want to be in my 20s and pregnant again. Thanks so much for another amazing Throw me Thursday post and the mention and the link to Dani’s wonderful post and the Talking Heads video (LOVE them!). 😀

    • pennyjars says:

      Lisa, sometimes I get a wild hair and think, I could do that again. And then I remember how nice is it to have kids I don’t have to carry and can feed themselves. Thanks so much for the video. It did make me miss those baby giggles.

  2. Whew! Pregnancy dreams do have a way of zeroing in on extreme emotions. I’ve been thinking all day (since I read your post earlier) of my most memorable dream. Those are always my dark dreams that reveal more about my subconscious than I want to admit to myself. *ahem* But, I do dream vivid, which I love.

    My mother was always big into her dreams, too. She even kept a book (or two) of interpretations. And, she always told me never to reveal your dream before breakfast, or it might come true. I miss those little quirks about her 🙂

    • pennyjars says:

      “Never reveal your dream before breakfast, or it might come true.” I’ve never heard that before, Christi. It’s great. Did you by any chance hold on to those dream books of your mother’s? I love vivid dreams, but so often they flit away before I open my eyes.

      • My mom had several books, but she gave me one of my own. Yes, I still have it. It’s like a dream encyclopedia where you look up whatever image you saw and there are three or four interpretations.

        Say you dream of a horse and carriage (since we all do, right?), somebody’s coming to visit, or you’re taking a trip, or you need a new car 🙂

        Still, she was very serious about it all. So was my grandmother. If you dream of fish, by the way, somebody’s pregnant. You can imagine how many times I got that call when I was younger, to which I always responded, “Mom! Geez!”

      • pennyjars says:

        Christi, that sounds like some terrific writing inspiration!

Leave a Reply

