Throw me Thursday: Skate

There is a sliver of youth I’d like to get back, it’s small and it’s silver and sharp. I’d hang it on a chain wrapped loose around my neck where it would cut like paper. This is for the skinny boys on skateboards in patched-up pants and duct tape shoes, for closets filled with stolen books, five dollar punk shows and KFC.

We always lived back then convinced we weren’t alive, strapped to our longing and infallibility. Our voices howled from passenger windows. Our music pulsed the walls. Our rage beat on and on in poetry, paint, clay and mud.

Today, I wash floors, dust shelves, arrange and rearrange–the articulate joke drawn from skeins of blur and motion. Myself, once turning a wide open turbine, has funneled into the eye contented.

But for that sliver.

I remember skateboarders on lunch rolling click, click, click along the sidewalk. My junior year crush had a sharp, square jaw and short, skate boy hair. He’d wait outside my 7th hour History class and walk me down the hall. Very little became of us, but the flirt was divine.

***

Thanks for the video submission goes to Tiffany Green (Square Leaf Designs) a friend of many friends and a fierce defender of #WIUnion

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in Throw me Thursday, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Throw me Thursday: Skate

  1. Karrie says:

    Love this. Me, too.

  2. Beth Hoffman says:

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this! And I smiled at your use of the word turbine, I just used that word in my manuscript earlier this week — one of those words that evokes so much so quickly.

    Thanks for the great flash read.

    • pennyjars says:

      Beth, I very nearly plucked that word out on every reading of the draft. When I get your new book (!!!) I’m going to hunt for that word and put circles and arrows all around. 😉

  3. Eglentyne says:

    Oh Victoria, That video is awesome to begin with, but then your words bring back a whirling tumble of images in a short span. My favorite phrase: “skeins of blur and motion.” xo

  4. “…the flirt was divine.”

    What I love about your posts is how you always drop in on one or two lines that speak volumes, about a particular moment in the story and the piece as a whole. Lovely post, as always.

  5. Love this, especially the last sentences of the first and last paragraphs. Crisp writing, spare. Glad you shared it.

Leave a Reply

