Throw me Thursday: The Mosh Effect

Yeah, well. I was going to spend the night at Trin’s but, her mom got mad with all of us already over there and we were making too much noise she said, so Trin could go out until 1 am, but she had to come back. Alone.

But I already spent ten minutes on the phone with Ma convincing her I’d be at Trin’s and we’d be fine and it was cool we’d been gone all day anyway, there was more stuff to do, like, watch movies and stuff.

So, we get back to her place from a day lost in Madison, just us two, and this guy calls on the phone and says he’s coming by with some friends to hang out, is that okay? Yeah, it’s okay.

Who?

Mike. We met him at the show last weekend.

The one where I almost broke my neck in the mosh pit? (I did, I swear, it was like I jumped in and everyone was all crazy and I got shoved and hit my head on an amp and Crack! I did, I thought I broke my neck. I thought I was dead!)

So, these guys come over and this one guy is from our school, but I didn’t know him and he’s, like, surrounded by body guards, but they weren’t body guards they were guys from the other school and they were really tall and stuff.

We just hang around in Trin’s mom’s living room and Trin breaks out the Comet cleanser and hands it to me and we’re like, Yum. Mmm. This is good!

And these guys that are all long hair and mohawk-y and trench coat-y are looking at us, like, what the? And Trin and I just start laughing and offer to share. And the guys are all being cool and punk and tall.

It’s not real, Trin says, laughing and laughing at them for not getting it. And I was all playing it cool because I didn’t know these people, not even that guy I was supposed to have met at the show last weekend. And when you’re in that situation you can be anyone.

Anyway, I was there being anyone hanging around Trin and these guys and they think we should go out somewhere so we go and take the tallest, longest-haired guy home and then it’s already 1 am and Trin is going to go Poof! if we don’t get her home. But what of me then? Ma would kill me if I were out until 1 am. I mean, she gave me a midnight curfew but every time I tried to use it she’d say, “Get home early.” As if. What’s the point of the curfew then? Geez.

We take Trin home and these guys are funny and weird and harmless. The guy with the car, a clunky blue Toyota covered in yellow laundry dot stickers, says, “You can stay at my place. I’ll take you home in the morning.” And, sure, why not, these other two guys are staying too.

He lives in an apartment with his mom. This place is where everyone hangs out. His mom is cool, I get that. Everyone even calls her “Mom” so she must be the universal mother figure. Even still, he’s kinda not telling her I’m crashing there.

The four of us stay up talking about music and skateboards and books and stuff until they get tired and claim spots on the floor or the edges of the bed and I try to sleep, but this is too weird. I don’t really know these people and this long haired guy on the end of the bed is snoring and I have no place to put my feet.

I wait for time to pass. I sleep and wake. I look at the room, all this guy’s stuff everywhere. Beatles posters, cinderblock and plywood shelves on the floor. Records. There are some pictures of his girlfriend. I take it he’s the only one with a girlfriend. I don’t know where she is, but it sounds like they’ve been together for a long time.

He wakes up when his mom goes to work. She leaves and he takes me across town to my own apartment with my own ma inside. I think this is a one-off thing, just something that happened.

Instead, I date some of these guys over a time, change my life around for them, with them. I marry that guy Mike from the show with the mosh pit when I thought I was dead.

***

The L7 video suggestion came from Andy Grenia, the guy with the car and the apartment and the mom.

We miss you, Mom.

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in Throw me Thursday, wildness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Throw me Thursday: The Mosh Effect

  1. Lisa says:

    Victoria, the voice and details in this piece take me to a completely new place. I love it when that happens! Your words always–always–engage my mind and senses. Thank you.

  2. kario says:

    This is so great! The voice is absolutely perfect for the story. As always, I love it.

Leave a Reply

