Throw me Thursday: Earth Day

The Princess and the Pebble

It’s my baby’s third Earth Day Birthday and all I want to do is get to tomorrow so I can enjoy it. The girl came out slicked and squalling and ready to party. She’s been dancing since she could stand.

She’s music and movies and motion. She’s wicked in her joy. She’s fire on fire.

And she makes a point of delineating which of us gets what hug. I don’t get squeezes anymore (she’ll shock you with these–honest and true bear hugs from the smallest pea) because I’m Mommy and Mommy needs gentle, Mommy needs nice. Daddy gets the pulp squeezed out of him.

I don’t know where she comes from because she’s so herself she’s planetary. This kid was put here, not to deepen the well of humanity’s intellectual core, but to bring about the full-bodied intention of living.

Mommy knows her radiance.

Mommy pushed her out in twenty minutes shaking on a near slab of hospital sheet while cracking jokes at the midwives because she didn’t get to finish shoe shopping and was gypped the whirlpool spa. There’s an Earth Day sacrifice for you, World, I saved gallons of clean, fresh water for your birthday.

For Azalea’s birthday I’m giving you one of her recent favorite songs.

Happy Earth Day, World. Treat yourself well.

If you are interested in learning the history of Earth Day and the founder, former Wisconsin Senator Gaylord Nelson, please read this article from The Wilderness Society’s web page. Forward.

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in adventures in childrearing, birthday, kids, Throw me Thursday. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Throw me Thursday: Earth Day

  1. Susan @ 2KoP says:

    Grab the wind by the tail and celebrate. My kind of girl.

  2. Lisa says:

    You have made me want to hug the pulp out of both mother and daughter. Happy Birthday, dear Azalea!

  3. Christine says:

    I loved this post! I think Azzy shares her mother’s joie de vivre!

    Sesame Street has changed a lot since I watched it as a kid or since my kids watched it. The penguins are new; they’re great! I’ve loved “Sing a Song” as long as I can remember. When my son Nick was Azzy’s age, one of my favorite Sesame Street moments involved watching a performance of the song “Put down the duckie…if you want to play the saxophone!” šŸ™‚

    Keep writing, Victoria! You have a gift.

    • pennyjars says:

      Now they have celebrities at the beginning talking about their favorite “Sesame St moment”. I could list them off–it was my closest preschool experience.

  4. Sweepy Jean says:

    Happy Birthday and Happy Earth Day to Azalea! I used to sing this song with my children. :p

  5. Lisa says:

    Happy Birthday, Azy!!!! I love this post, Victoria, how your baby (not so baby) girl is like the Earth, itself… your adjectives are superb and rockin my world!
    Lady, we have GOT to be getting together SOON.
    We have the kids full-time now. I’ll email you details.
    xxoo
    Lisa

  6. Beth Hoffman says:

    Love the pics! Love this too–> “She’s wicked in her joy. She’s fire on fire.”

    Happy Birthday to Azalea!

    • pennyjars says:

      Thanks, Beth. Those statements were proven true on the carousel when the music stopped then started up as her horse rose toward the sky–Shrieking glee came from that girl.

  7. kario says:

    Awesome! Happy, happy birthday, little one! I hope your joy continues to shine and illuminate the world around you. There is nothing so precious as a happy child.

  8. What a sweet post, love the pictures, and heart the video. Happy Birthday Jazzy Azzy girl! Life is your for the taking!

  9. That’s poetry in motion, happy, happy birthday Azy!

Leave a Reply

