What are you spending all that time dreaming for, Dorothy?


This is writing. This is what matters.

In the northern California Redwoods nearly 7 years ago, we rented an unremarkable cabin. There was a small bathroom with a shower, a main room with a T.V. and bed, a kitchen in white that I loved. In the mornings, I woke up before Mike, made coffee and wrote in a notebook. I was either married or not depending on the day.

At home I have been aching for that small white kitchen and the morning quiet, or the tents and lakes and trees of campgrounds. Spring has finally brought out her party gowns and I am in her thrall.

Yesterday I was angry, bitter, feeling cruel in the prospect of writing. One of the first things I read online was this and it tainted the day.

It shouldn’t have, that was petty.

There is a space within us that holds the pocket that hides the seed that lifts its chin and becomes a dream. I am not dreaming anymore because I’m feeling the more I call writing a dream the less presence of mind I give it.

A seed does not sit on the ground thinking, I’m a seed. I’m a seed. One of these days I’m going to decide to grow. There’s no time for that. It just drinks its water, takes in the sun, and shoots up into the canopy.

Have you seen a Redwood tree?

Its strength is galvanizing.

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in coffee, Creativity, memoir writing, places, Project Placement, truth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What are you spending all that time dreaming for, Dorothy?

  1. The Girl says:

    A musician I really liked tweeted this yesterday, and it stuck with me. I think it sticks to this, too.

    “I have never seen a wild thing feel sorry for itself. A little bird will fall frozen from a bough without ever having felt sorry for itself.”

  2. Great photo, and I love this post.
    Now, let’s get down to business.
    xoxo

  3. My thoughts are much like your own this evening. I spend at least 6 hours a day writing and blogging and find it difficult to find enough time to do this. A friend who thinks she knows better than I do what I do said: “It’s time for you to stop taking and give something back. You need to do some volunteer work…” I so wanted to respond in kind but what would have been the point? Some people never get it. Your cabin sounds wonderful and I want to hide there!

    • pennyjars says:

      Elizabeth, I was once told by a visual artist, “You have the easy part, you just have to write.” Well, if that’s all I have to do, let’s have a party in the off time. I say, your words will live long after you go. With that in mind, you are giving full score.

  4. Christine says:

    This weekend I heard from a fellow writer that some publishers are looking for the “most read” blogs to find new talent. It worked for the Julie of “Julia and Julie.”

    Writing can be a very frustrating avocation. There are so many cases of incredible writing ending up in the slush pile, such as “The Diary of Anne Frank.” (This weekend I read Francine Prose’s analysis of the book as a literary work of art and of Anne as a very talented young writer.) There are also cases of writing that makes me cringe getting published.

    Whether you write on a paper bag in the grocery store line, it’s the fact that you are writing that counts. It’s easy for the cartoonist to cast stones.

    Keep writing your blog, Victoria, and get back to that little, white kitchen in the woods as soon as you can!

  5. Lisa says:

    Victoria, I’ve been thinking a lot about how Heather Sellers describes our relationship to writing, that it’s like a lover whom we must not lead on with false promises. It’s an affair we are having that we needn’t feel guilty about.

    Your strength and talent and infection joy are obvious. Woo that lover.

    Hugs,
    Lisa

  6. Anything you write is writing and you are a writer writing it, get it? πŸ™‚ Seriously though, as writers we are always our biggest critic, opponent and we kick ourselves too much. We are the biggest procrastinators and have just decided to celebrate it by writing about it! We enjoy reading your blog so hey, tell Snoopy to back off.

    • pennyjars says:

      Yo, Snoopy, back off! I’m going to have to post a link to a TED talk I listened to recently, it’s really stuck with me, maybe you’ve seen it. It’s about a brain scientist who suffers from a stroke and studies it while she’s going through it. What keeps getting me is her description of the two hemispheres of the brain, how the left hemisphere, the one responsible for language, is also the one responsible for our self awareness and–get this–self criticism and logic. Alright, now I may as well write the entire blog post since I’ve done half the work here already. πŸ™‚ Thanks, Girls.

  7. kario says:

    So much here for me today. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

