Throw Me Thursday: You are beautiful just the way you are

m_bartosch

There were avocados splayed across menus like 1950’s pinup girls–all thigh and curve. Avocados in California omelets. Avocados split and diced, sprayed with lime, slapped on bagels, served with tomato.

There were avocados on mismatched plates eaten under shade trees with chai lattes next to dog-eared classics and a 50 cent romance pinched from the laundry across the street. She read aloud, “No, she was being ridiculous. He was an honorable man; there had to be another explanation. Perhaps weariness rode him as hard as it did her.”

There were avocados on hand thrown mugs, stamped there above the cafe’s name, painted in olive green instead of avocado.

When they crossed the boarder back into California, there were signs warning against illegal produce and she wondered if an avocado needed a Green Card.

She remembered the pits she’d saved and skewered with toothpicks, how they hung suspended in shot glasses rotting and turning soft.

There were avocados smeared on soft dresses left soaking overnight in the bathroom sink. Small faces and hands, she knew, couldn’t be kept clean for long.

Raymond Gibson (Fictionaut) said “The road not taken hypothetically taken.” And somehow it took me down a vacationing road, a road without children, but there is a bend in every road and in me, an internal compass by which to navigate.

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in Throw me Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Throw Me Thursday: You are beautiful just the way you are

  1. Lisa Auter says:

    Absolutely breathtaking!! I’ve had a huge dry writing spell; this makes me want to get back to pen and paper! You are an inspiration.

  2. Pingback: My Takeaway from The Shallows: Awareness | Writing Life

  3. Lady, I love every inch of this post. I could read that first paragraph a million times. So, so rich!!

  4. eglentyne says:

    “…she wondered if an avocado needed a Green Card.” Ha! Love that.

  5. Vaughn Roycroft says:

    Lovely imagery, filled with life, built off of an inanimate object. Less is more was proven here. Well done! (Good song too.)

    • pennyjars says:

      Vaughn, thank you! I appreciate your reading and commenting. I was checking for a link to a blog of your own, but didn’t see one. Tell me if I’m mistaken?

  6. Beth Hoffman says:

    WOW, wow, wow …….. you just keep getting better and better! This is a real jewel, Victoria! I’m talkin’ the kind that takes my breath away.

    You go, girl!

  7. ~Tim says:

    I love the bit about the Green Card too. And what a cool tune.

  8. Lisa says:

    “She remembered the pits sheโ€™d saved and skewered with toothpicks, how they hung suspended in shot glasses rotting and turning soft.”

    Oh, my, Victoria. This piece is one of your best yet. You have awakened my senses.

    And I LOVE avocados. ๐Ÿ™‚

    ~ Lisa

  9. The Girl says:

    I never knew I could feel so warmly about a fruit I don’t even like. It must be YOU that works such magic.

    • pennyjars says:

      Then I don’t have to worry about your warm feelings spilling over onto the fruit, another thing I learned with a California avocado–heating them up is negatory. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Pingback: My Takeaway from The Shallows: Awareness - Lisa Rivero

Leave a Reply

