Throw Me Thursday: The Regulars

Before I was here I worked in a Greek diner where the best thing on the menu was rice pudding. They put it on the menu for the old people, but I scooped it up in banana boats and ate it at the counter with the regulars. The old men always sat at one end telling Navy stories and leaving food marks on their cups. I have a thing about people’s mouth food so I tried not to look, but you know, you can’t help it when the something you don’t like works like a magnet to your eyes, it just keeps pulling you back.

There was one cool girl waiting tables who had a kid and smoked pot after work and dated some jerk ballet dancer that liked to push her against the wall. She was tougher than he was so she pushed back and he almost broke his leg for loosing his balance near the stairs. Served him right.

The old men at the end of the counter smoked Pal Mals and liked to act real with it. “Hey, Lilly,” Hagerty called to me one day. “Come over here. I want to ask you something.” His bald brother was hunched up coughing out a laugh. That’s when I spilled the orange juice on the annoying little boy who liked to pester me when I was busy, which was all the time.

“What’s that?” I asked. They never got excited about nothing.

“Do you see a bush trimmer, you know, for in the summer when you wear a swimming suit?” Hagerty’s bald brother was still coughing and laughing. Laughing and coughing.

I sized them up real good and poured another cup of decaf trying not to notice the food marks. “Who says I wear a swimming suit?” I said. “Seems to me it’s pretty stupid to get all dressed up just to get wet.”

Well, old Hagerty didn’t know what to say to that and his brother looked about ready to keel over so I left them to it. Wasn’t much after that they found the two of them belly up and buck naked down by the river. Must have been quite an undertow.

***

Sometimes one thing doesn’t connect up quite right with the other, or if you follow where your writing hand is going it might lead you off the deep end. Thank you to Karen Monroy (Sustainable Prosperity) for suggesting, “Drops of Jupiter in my hair.” The images led me along a cascade of story lines that ended way over there…in the deep end.

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in coffee, Flash Fiction, Throw me Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Throw Me Thursday: The Regulars

  1. kario says:

    You can’t imagine the joy I get when I see that another Thursday has come around and you’ve risen to the occasion again.

    Enjoy your Friday and thanks!

  2. Beth Lowe says:

    Ooh, nice one. Really nice one.

  3. Oh, you have some really nice details in here. I love diner stories.

  4. pennyjars says:

    Me too. I’ve put in enough time at diners to write and entire series, but I won’t.

  5. Jillian says:

    I adore this narrator. Love your forays into flash!

  6. Love this – reminds us of many stories we should start writing down from our own diner experiences. Love this line “coughing out a laugh” – told us exactly what kind of guy he was just with that phrase.

  7. pennyjars says:

    I never met a diner I didn’t like, but I have refused to order.

  8. siggiofmaine says:

    Diners…such an experience they are for the people watchers of the world. It was almost like being there. Thanks.
    ☮ ♥. Siggi in Downeast Maine

Leave a Reply

