Throw Me Thursday: Get Your Kicks

Me and Mathias moved out here near ten years ago and bought this old filling station. Nothing but a falling down old piece of rot back then, but Mathias, he has a vision, if you know what I mean. He says to me, “Honey, there’s things only God knows and things we ain’t meant to understand, but I got this feeling God’s been telling me all along the right path to take and I reckon we ought to take it.” So we closed up our little pink house out there near Rolla and bought this here.

Right away Mathias sets to tearing off the roof and scraping down the pumps. Next thing you know, we’re getting all these boxes come in saying Route 66. He’s got t-shirts and bobbly head Elvises and James Deans. There’s a whole museum of stuff he’s been collecting like a shrine. He’s even found some old work boots with steel toes he swears belonged to one of the men first built the highway, though I don’t know if they even had steel toe boots back then.

I tell ya, Mathias is happier than I ever seen him. Just so happy he sets to whistling all day while he shines the pumps up with an old oil cloth just like he says they used to do. And you should just see him, some days he can’t contain himself and he starts up the jukebox with Chuck Berry and gets all the bobble heads going at once. Then he starts all the little cars going on their track and the airplanes zipping about on their strings. It gets to where a person can’t even stand to be inside, they just can’t. It’ll make you crazy if you let it.

So I guess that’s just what happened, I went a little crazy. I didn’t mean nothing by it, but there he was all dancing around the place singing to Chuck Berry and whizzing those little cars and airplanes. I said, “By God, there is a plan, Mathias,” and I swung those work boots around on their laces so fast you wouldn’t even know it was me could do such a thing, then Wham! I hit him right there in the temple. Poor thing. I guess he’ll never leave Route 66 now.

***

I nearly forgot myself along Route 66… Thanks, Andy Grenia for your steel toed shoes!

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Throw me Thursday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Throw Me Thursday: Get Your Kicks

  1. This stuff makes me giggly and grim! I love it.

  2. Beth Hoffman says:

    “So I guess that’s just what happened, I went a little crazy. I didn’t mean nothing by it…”

    Yes, ma’am!

  3. eglentyne says:

    I’m not sure which is worse, Victoria, all these murdering women, or your words making us giggle at murder. lol –Dani 🙂

Leave a Reply

