Facebook is insane!

Image by pshab

There, I said it. Now, I am not going to go around screaming from the port bow to abandon ship, I’m just going to tell you what I did and why I did it.

I don’t know the first thing about the grandiose mind meld of Mark Zuckerberg, but I do know when I originally set myself up on Facebook I was innocent. Really I had just gotten myself back on the internet after having my second child and staying home full time. I needed attention.

What I didn’t know then was anything about publishing, marketing, blogging, or social networking. I didn’t even know how to write every day because the only things I had been thinking about obsessively for years prior was growing that “normal” life so many of us are keen on–wedding planning, begging my body to make a baby, house buying, screaming at my body to make a baby, searching out a job with a certain amount of respect, jumping up and down because my body finally made a baby, and… raising babies.

When Azalea was three months old I started writing in earnest. She’s three and a half now and what I’ve learned could fill several books. I guess that’s why people keep writing about writing.

I learned more about social networking as a way to “build a writer’s platform” rather than just screwing around when I needed a gouge in the eye. I met writers online. I met a lot of incredible I-never-thought-I’d-be-in-the-same-room-with-you writers online. We’re friends now, and sometimes we’re in the same room drinking a beer or online virtually clinking a cup of hot coffee.

My Facebook experience has changed.

Forcibly, everyone’s Facebook experience has changed and I really don’t know what to make of it. I like Google +, it makes me want to quote Dr. Seuss, “It’ s opener there in the wide open air.” I like Twitter where all the world’s compressing and decompressing simultaneously. It took me a long time to get a grasp on Twitter, but now it’s a Candy Land of intrigue. And cats.

Your internets are filled with these

One key component of the writer’s platform is the Facebook Fan page, the more fans you have the better. Essentially, these are your readers and you’re bringing them with you to the book deal. See there, you’re expected to have readers before you ever have a book. That’s the rub and it goes for traditional and self published authors.

What I hear and read about Facebook is that it will continue changing, that it’s getting ever so much more public and consumer information oriented. It is also still a key component of the writer’s platform and will remain so for quite some time. Okay.

So.

What I did and why.

I feel like my presence online should be all one thing. I’m not good at being anything but this, here. My original Facebook profile was geared solely toward people I knew in the flesh and could understand my weird. After I met more and more people I could jive with online I started making concessions, but it didn’t sit well with me to have my entire profile opened up publicly.

I also worked very hard for the support of my fan page and I wasn’t going to give that up easily. My decision was to create a new profile (still with many holes to fill in) and start from scratch. I gave this profile administration rights to my fan page and closed the original house down.

Simple.

Too much? Perhaps, but I think this will work.

What do you think, is Facebook scaring you away or have you stayed away all this time? What do you see as the future for the the writer’s platform in the social media race?

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in Creativity, truth, Weird, Why write, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Facebook is insane!

  1. Lisa says:

    Bravo, Victoria! I like. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Randall says:

    So far, I have stayed away from Facebook. But everyone says if you have a blog you have to be on Facebook or you will get nowhere. So I guess we will see.

    • pennyjars says:

      Hi Randall,

      Social networking certainly does help speed along the life of a blog, but I certainly wouldn’t give Facebook all the credit. Thanks for stopping!

  3. I love Twitter. I love the simplicity of it, but I’m still aware that anytime I link my Twitter to anything, esp Facebook I’m contributing to my online profile. I’m still unsure what to do with Google+, particularly now that Facebook has really promoted friend lists, allowing me to organize people properly into “acquaintances” and actual friends.

    I have a very public day job, and my online presence is scrutinized by my employers so I made the decision to create an online ego. Sort of like Batman, but with a lot less Gucci. Whether it will hurt or enhance my “platform” I guess only time will tell? But it’s helped dissociate my name from what I’m pursuing. Not everybody I come into contact with needs to know.

    • pennyjars says:

      Thank you for your comments, Christina. I don’t know why, but even after switching and starting over I still find Google + easier to use than Facebook. Maybe it’s because I’m forced to circle people I want to follow right away versus waiting until it’s convenient. Even on Twitter, I was once quite good at listing, but I’ve let it fall to the side.

      I can understand why you would want to have an “online ego” (Batman/Gucci–nice) but I’m lazy and I don’t have an employer anyway. Or maybe I fly by the seat of my public pants. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. siggiofmaine says:

    Very well written…thanks…lots to think about.
    โ˜ฎ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  5. Shoe says:

    FB is confusing. And every time I think I have a bit of a handle on it, it makes a seismic shift, and leaves me lost in the dust. Again.

    My standard approach to things that have changed and confuse me, is to give it some time, and see if I get used to it, before I decide if I like or dislike it. But that approach simply doesn’t work with FB, since I can’t seem to catch my breath before the next major change.

    I plan on putting up with this for a while, but if it doesn’t settle down in a month or so, I might walk away for some time.

    Thank you for writing about this. Timely subject.

    • pennyjars says:

      Thank you, Shoe. I guess maybe it depends on what you hope to get out of it. I certainly don’t think people need to spend all their time online keeping up with the latest social networking fads, but it is a nice tool to keep in touch with people and issues your interested in. More importantly though is to do what works best for you. Thanks so much for your comments.

  6. You have given me so much to think about here. Facebook and I have an understanding, but I think it’s because I haven’t incorporated it into any notion of myself online as a writer. I share stuff, but when I do I feel like it’s among friends. And I like it that way.

    But I absolutely see your dilemma, and have to say… I’m tickled I made the cut.

    Also, regarding this…

    “…begging my body to make a baby, house buying, screaming at my body to make a baby, searching out a job with a certain amount of respect, jumping up and down because my body finally made a baby, andโ€ฆ raising babies.”

    I want to hug you. And confide in you and stuff.

    • pennyjars says:

      Oh, my dear Jillian, confide in me to your heart’s delight. And yes, once you make that shift to Facebook writer I think it becomes something else to consider. Or not. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Draven Ames says:

    Facebook is very public and seems to have been since I joined. I like Facebook, but only use it for social networking with potential readers and other writers. So far, I like all the people I have met and will continue using it. Kudos to you and changing your fan page. I can understand why.

    We get your ‘weird.’

    • pennyjars says:

      Oh, I am so pleased you get my weird. ๐Ÿ˜€ If I would have gone in to it with that mind set it would have been less of a hassle now, but then, what would I be writing about?

  8. Pingback: Writer Defrag « Writing Life

  9. I understand. I stayed away from FB for many reasons until I was given enough nudges by my publisher and friends. I sort of liked it for a while, then I was away for health reasons.
    Now, I’m not sure what is going on. Everybody seems to complaining and I’m not sure what to think.
    I guess it’s different for me because I use it mainly to network, so nothing private is out in the open. I don’t trust any social network for that.
    Best wishes with your page.

    • pennyjars says:

      Hi Elle, I can imagine coming back to the crazy outrage would be rather off putting, but I can see you don’t have the sharing issues many others do. Smart thinking on your part! Thanks so much for stopping and sharing your comments.

  10. I just have fun with it, I don’t take it too seriously and find it wonderful when I can keep in touch with creative people like you. I not a writer and find your style and “weird” simply fasinating. Such a young mind with so much to say and you say it so well. I envy your talent.

  11. OK we added you on Facebook, done! Yeah, we agree, it’s hard to keep up on all the platforms and of course, then there’s that thing called writing… like we need anything else to distract us from that!

Leave a Reply

