No, not that harvest moon

It’s been a while, yeah? I’ve been writing just about every morning and plotting between times like a computer program running in the background occasionally doing scans.

This last weekend I took the girls and myself to our annual camping event. The heartbreak was that my husband couldn’t come along and had to work. This was the first year since he was seventeen that he couldn’t be there sitting around the campfire with his friends. I did a lot of explaining. And inadvertently mooned a nice family on their drive in–dress, wind. And forgot all my clothes in a bag at home. Lucky I made a pan of peanut butter cookies that morning before taking off. I love peanut butter cookies. So does everyone else for that matter.

There were a lot of kids. My kids almost forgot me, but then they got hungry and remembered me again. Then they went all bat nutty when I tried to put them to bed in a cabin full of kids going bat nutty. Then they sort of slept, but not really.

We did things: hiking, eating, playing My Little Ponies, buying Mama new underwear, watching a rocket shoot up in the air and land somewhere out there in a big hunk of trees. We missed my husband. I called him. The girls refused to talk. We ate our Saturday spaghetti and took our Saturday picture and built our Saturday fire.

The kids went bat nutty when I tried to put them to bed and I threatened to cancel Ivy’s birthday in the morning. She ended up with a time out and fell asleep within minutes of lying down.

It was good, but I didn’t write. Once I took the laptop out of the car and laid it on a table. Once someone asked me how the writing was going and I had to admit that it hadn’t even crossed my mind. Then I panicked.

Ivy’s birthday wasn’t cancelled, but punctuated with a Daddy shoulder ride outside in the sunshine before a raspberry pancake lunch. She got dinosaurs and a volcano that blasts apart when she pushes a button. It’s all over the floor right now with little people in little hats holding little tools and little lap tops.

The little person in my little story is making a decision right now, her world has been fictionally rocked and carnally soothed, but things still haven’t gotten bad enough. I’m testing myself to see how cruel I can really be to the characters in my head. This is why I need a bigger evil streak. Anyone got one to lend?

How have you been? Really, it feels like forever. How’s your October sound, kind of crunchy under the feet?

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in adventures in childrearing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to No, not that harvest moon

  1. This time of year my boss always talks of October light. It’s some of the best, and I need to find a window, cat-like, to lie and write in.

    • pennyjars says:

      October light is incredible, though the light out my writing window has faded as the glowing leaves that informed my writing last week have been swept away. A cat-like perch, that’s what we all need.

  2. fandina72 says:

    I have done little writing also, and my excuses aren’t nearly half as interesting as yours! Sorry I don’t have a huge evil streak to lend you either – I have enough trouble conjuring one up myself 🙂 Go meet some vampires, zombies or something…I’m sure they can help you out!

  3. Beth Hoffman says:

    I’ve missed you so much! Hey, at least you were wearing underwear when the win kicked up… lol!

    • pennyjars says:

      I’ve missed you too, Beth! He he, yes, I was glad for that. Also, one of the spectators is a doctor, though he specializes at the other end of the anatomy 😀

  4. I’m so sorry that Mike couldn’t be there, but it sounds like a wonderful weekend. I know it’s hard to carve out time to write the blog, but you haven’t lost your gift!

  5. We could lend you our collective evil streak, we are sad to say that combined we can be pretty evil. But we temper that with the fact that we don’t usually voice our evilness to other people, we keep it to ourselves. We actually get to act our evilness in our stories some times, say things we can’t really say in real life. It’s fun, let your inner evil out!

    • pennyjars says:

      I have no doubt the two of you have a sharp evil streak, I have a friend like that, and I don’t worry about anyone else catching wind. The weirdest things I ever say I reserve for my husband, I don’t know how he gets it, but he does. Whatever, I will heed your advice–Ripping the evil from the Halloween bag a little early.

  6. Congratulations with your little Ivy’s birthday, that’s what my parents taught me to say when I’d go to a birthday party as a child. Well, I left out the ‘little’ of course, since the child usually was my own age. I felt the wind around my ears and missed your hubby as I read your post. What riches, new underpants and all. Have missed you indeed, glad to have you back, when ever it suits you Ms. Pennyjars. xoxo Judith

    • pennyjars says:

      Funny, I was writing about a child’s birthday in my story the other day, maybe because Ivy’s was coming up, but it was nowhere related to any I’ve ever attended. I can imagine the uncomfortable hilarity of wishing well a “little” someone several weeks or months your elder.

      Thank you so much, Judith, and my daughters were very excited for my new underthings, funny that.

  7. Hi! We follow each other on twitter, and I thought I drop by and look around.

    I enjoyed this blog post. I’ve been itching to take my bunch camping. We had hoped to do it this fall, but it will have to wait until next year. Sounds like you and your bunch had a blast. See you around! 🙂

Leave a Reply

