The Not-So-Secret Society

“Shoes!” someone said. “Death,” said another. “Ha ha!” said a third. “Are you in?”

Stephen gave it a name. Heidi gave it a face.

"The Dead Shoe Society" cover design by Heidi Sutherlin

I’m giving it a good going over because I don’t write short stories 10,000 words long. I barely write fiction at all. I barely know what a plot point is, but it sounds sharp and pokey, like those boots with the tall, spiky heals that go click-clack when you walk in your long black coat. Click. Clack. I’m giving nothing away.

Except that I want you all to read it as much as I doubt my ability to finish. I want you to read it because I have spent hours and gallons of coffee putting this story together and if there is nothing else to show for it, I will have learned a helluva lot.

There’s a huge difference between winning last year’s NaNoWriMo and writing this here story–I expect people to read this. I know at least 10 people will and I’m as nervous as all get out. I don’t have a genre, that’s one nerve. I write memoir, that’s another. I fear my imagination, that’s a third. Ah, just another writer shooting herself in the toe to make the boot fit. Once it fits, I intend on wearing it.

Writing Boots

I want those boots, I’d wear them well.

Your turn, give me a sneaky plot device to end this sucker. If I use it I’ll give you a copy of The Dead Shoe Society. Funny thing is, I’m not giving any hints away. Up for the challenge? Hit me.

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Not-So-Secret Society

  1. I’m gettin’ a copy no matter what!

    But as for sneaky plot devices, I’ve always been a sucker for secret, separated at birth twins, Dickensian style. It works for nothing written after the nineteenth century, but WHATEVER.

    Also, please delete the other comment. That’s my secret work identity that I not so secretly logged out of before commenting!

  2. eglentyne says:

    Your hero is really your villain’s father. Or something like that. No, someone finds a key, but no one finds the lock. Or the shoe horn doesn’t fit. Or no one has the size 14, extra-wide, platform heel in orange patent leather. Or someone gives up her high heels for rollerblades.

    Ok, ok, ok. Or how about one from reality. My step-father was a cop who wore tall boots, and he always carried a tiny revolver in a holster, inside the top of one boot. Like some kind of action hero. In his entire career, I only knew him to draw that tiny gun once, but I don’t think he had to fire it. Maybe one of your characters has a tiny back-up plan inside of a shoe to help get out of unexpected scrapes.

    xo Dani

    PS I love your boot up there.

  3. Jean says:

    just couldn’t help myself…Nancy Sinatra, these boots were made for walkin, and that’s just what I’ll do, these boots are gonna walk all over you! (or something like that) I always liked that song, I know nothing about a story plot, but hey, maybe it will lead to something? Ha!

  4. Beth Hoffman says:

    I swear, you could write ad copy for ketchup and I’d be intrigued.

    As for a sneaky plot device, that’s nearly impossible to conjure up without knowing the storyline, but I’ll throw my hat in the ring with this: Somebody, perhaps the most trustworthy character, turns out to be a big fat liar, or maybe even mentally unstable.

  5. Jonas Saul says:

    Hello there,

    Plot device? Make one of your characters immortal. A special gene causes aging to slow down to a tenth of what is considered normal. At thirty years of age they’re actually in the 300 year old range and no one is the wiser until the final scene.

  6. On Sunday we saw our friend Jeff perform the lead in “The Unexpected Guest” by Agatha Christie.
    SPOILER SPOILER don’t read on if you still have to read the book, or are going to see the play.
    Although, I’d like to see it again, knowing the end, for after all, I mistook a lot of red herrings for kipper etc. So… “he” did it. Enough said. Will I still get a prize even if I stole this fab ending from Dame A.C.?

  7. Twist – aliens arrive and all look like Christopher Walken

  8. The butler did it. (You may need to go back and insert a butler, but trust me, this works.)

    Thanks for the shout out. This is great fun.

  9. Just watched Haunted Mansion… “Why is it ALWAYS the creepy butler?” LOL

  10. Slips or falls in shoes- lands in front of train/bus = SPLAT

Leave a Reply

