Throw Me Thursday: Cargo

In the jet’s belly, crammed between crates and cases, suits and shoes and herbal shampoos, is Daddy and his fifteen pumpkin pies. “I’ll take my recipes to the grave!” he said with all the enthusiasm of a tiny emperor under the weight of huge responsibility.

***

Jamie Kratz-Gullickson: In the spirit of the holidays, how about something with wise men?

Dani Smith: Leaving on a jet plane…

Raymond Gibson: A scene involving a pie, preferably pumpkin

Dani Smith: A WISE person WITH Pumpkin pie ON a jet plane

Me: I have just the story 😉

(I didn’t though. I’ve had my mind on other things. And other things we should discuss. Like the fact that I think it’s time to switch over to self hosting and probably letting go of the Facebook fan page I went to great pains to preserve. That means throwing everything back up in the air and seeing how it lands. Would you come with me over to a new page? Would you hold my hand and jump up and down and help me break it in? I think I’ll do a book giveaway over there when it’s up and running. And then there are these t-shirts I made that say I Submit on the front and #AmWriting on the back. I’m not sure if you like them or not, but I was thinking of giving one of them away as well. Anyway, we should talk sometime. You could help me figure this stuff out.)

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in Throw me Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Throw Me Thursday: Cargo

  1. Kellie says:

    You know, Louis CK has gone against the big-name expectation-set tide, and he’s doing pretty well: https://buy.louisck.net/statement . And the link to those cool t-shirts requires I log in (optionally to Facebook) to see them. There’s perhaps something to be said for controlling your own stuff.

    Also, you’re wonderfully aware, and you rock.

    xoxo

    • pennyjars says:

      Kellie, That experiment of Louis CK’s is really cool. Thanks for sharing. Have you heard of Kickstarter? I’d love to hear stories from some people who have used it.

      Sorry about the t-shirts. This link should work: http://www.cafepress.com/motherwriter.517830246# I only have a women’s version up because I wanted one, even if I still haven’t ordered it.

      Also, You rock ‘n roll, sister. I love seeing you skulking around my page. 🙂

  2. Christi Craig says:

    I love this, all that is said in just two sentences!

    And, I can’t wait to see where you’re headed with a new site and such 🙂

  3. Well this was two amazing lines of wonderful writing! I loved it, especially the glorious “suits and shoes and herbal shampoos”.

  4. Julie Jeffs says:

    I’ll follow you anywhere, and how do we get one of those shirts?? Go where your heart leads.

    • pennyjars says:

      Ah, Julie, I wouldn’t go without you. Look up there in Kelli’s reply and you can click that link. Or you can wait until the new year when I hope to have the new site up and a giveaway hot on its trail.

  5. Beth Hoffman says:

    Whoa … from those few words you managed to sweep me away!

  6. hutch1957 says:

    I’ll follow where ever you end up!

  7. Janelle says:

    I am totally wowed and prrpaeed to take the next step now.

Leave a Reply

