Dirty Hair, Stinky Clothes

I really don’t have a lot of time. It’s 3 in the afternoon and I haven’t had a shower. I think I’m still wearing the shirt I wore yesterday. I just want to let you know what’s going on.

First of all, I’m in that book I’ve been talking about, but I really don’t know what anyone thinks about it as a whole. A few friends snapped it up right away and read my story. One even read it the day it came out and was sweet enough to embarrass me with gushy love on Facebook. Overall, I just wonder. Was the content and the first person point of view a little too…too? My sis read it, but declined to comment. Maybe it was all the cookies I put in front of her. I’m sure they were too much to handle.

I was excited to hear it had a “creep” factor. That’s good, yeah?

What I’m really thinking about right now is moving from this blog to a new website of my very own. I’m still hanging out on WordPress, but under my own name. It’s exciting, but I’m realizing how much I don’t know about putting a webpage together. I get a lot of fancy ideas, but I’m never really sure how to make them magically happen. They say, learn HTML. They say, learn CSS. Yep.

So I have to take off right now and grab a bottle of shampoo and a clean shirt. I left my purse behind on Christmas Eve and my kids need new fancy dancing shoes for a New Year’s wedding. Anybody want a cookie?

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dirty Hair, Stinky Clothes

  1. hutch1957 says:

    Thanks for the cookie! They are sugar free, aren;t they?

  2. My suggestion: continue with the blog that has your own (domain name). You can create departments/ sections. Many people don’t get a proper website (which is more static than a blog) and still make it look like one. Make sure your present blog is hosted by WordPress.org not .com but you already k ow that I guess. Write, write, write and let your future publisher take care of your author page when the time comes. Any learning curve re: web page design thrown your way will only take you away from your stories.
    I’ll take a look at your creepy story ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Xo
    Ju

  3. Beth Hoffman says:

    I just read your story and thought it was incredibly eerie and fascinating! How you incorporated the muse was wonderfully clever and a twist I wasn’t expecting, and there was a tension throughout that really had me by the throat. As of today, I’ve read your story, Christi’s story, and the first one (the one with the shoes in cement).

  4. siggiofmaine says:

    @ Hutch 1957…if you break a cookie in half…..or a candy bar, etc. you can pour the calories and sugar right out ! Ta Dah !

    I don’t have any suggestions on any blog changes…I have trouble mastering this yet, so no advice just wishing you good luck…
    Your cookies look delish.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  5. Web creation ignrance must run in the family. I bought Dreamweaver to “make it easy” but can’t figure that out either.

    • pennyjars says:

      Dennis, WordPress took some finagling, but I think it was worth it. Mostly it involved a lot of Google searching to find the plugins I needed. That and friends who already knew the ropes. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

