What do Marla Singer, Punk-Gypsy-Cabaret and Watergate have in common?

It’s wild here tonight inside my head.  The kids are quiet, sleeping, blissful that I’ve worn them down to tired little nubs with our running and visiting and shopping on the perfectest of perfect days.

I’ve nothing to do but sit. And write.

But the music is kicking me around.  It’s much too rambunctious for a Tuesday night with a sharp little fingernail scrape of a moon.

Chair dancing is unbecoming of a thirty-something mother of two.

Or is it?  I’m a little lost when it comes to the laws of decorum.

Last week, my friend and writing compatriot Christi Craig set me up with this list of questions because…hmm…I don’t know if I ever asked why.

It was more like, Tag, you’re it.

And since you’re already used to me yammering on about myself, I figure, this shouldn’t be too terribly difficult.

This is where it starts.

1. If you could have any superpower, what would you have?

First of all, I can’t win with this question.  It’s already been up for debate on This American Life’s “Superpowers” show when I found out I have a predilection for one of the more disdainful of superpowers–Invisibility.

Sure, when I was a kid it was all about sneaking around and getting away with things, but now, now it makes more sense.  When I posed John Hodgman’s dinner table question–What would you choose, flight or invisibility–on Facebook, I immediately got the response–Invisibility is all about voyeurism, how can you use that power for good?

I say Watergate, you say tomahto, but that’s beside the point, because nobody ever said you had to use your superpower for good, that’s just assumed.

I’m more selfish.

Invisibility means I can sneak up behind anyone at anytime and Boo the bravado right out of them. (Not that I would, mind you, that’s mean, and I’m all talk)

Forget to take clothes to the bathroom before the shower and have house guests?  Worried?  Pshaw.

And there is no end of writing possibilities.

Invisibility: It’s not voyeurism, it’s research.

2. Who is your style icon?

That would be telling.

3. What is your favorite quote?

If I repeat that Kerouac quote one more time what?

Right now, I’m very partial to a Shel Silverstein poem:

LISTEN TO THE MUSN’TS

Listen to the MUSN’TS, child,

Listen to the DON’TS

Listen to the SHOULDN’TS

The IMPOSSIBLES, the WON’TS

Listen to the NEVER HAVES

Then listen close to me–

Anything can happen, child,

ANYTHING can be.

4. What is the best compliment you’ve ever received?

To you, he’s a guy who owned a coffee shop.  And he’s tall and likes to talk.

To me, he’s the guy who gave me the best high of my life up on a stage.  I was 19, the last shaken reader.

“Man.  You guys can write.”

5. What playlist/cd is in your CD player/iPod right now?

Gogol Bordello radio on Pandora is responsible for the chair dancing, if that’s what you’re asking.  See for yourself.

6. Are you a night owl or a morning person?

Heads.  No, tails.

7. Do you prefer dogs or cats?

I have three cats.  Before my oldest daughter was conceived, she was named.  I’ve named a dog too.  It’s a matter of time.

8. What is the meaning behind your blog name?

Penny jars are a reoccurring theme from my childhood.  Before I ever thought to write a memoir-focused blog, I wrote a post elsewhere about my brother returning home from the Marines.  It just made cents. (Ouch) 

And now I give you 3 high quality blogs:

2 Girls on a Bench

The Bird Sisters

Two Kinds of People

Tag…you’re it!

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in coffee, friendship, memoir writing, music, wildness and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What do Marla Singer, Punk-Gypsy-Cabaret and Watergate have in common?

  1. Three things I love about this post:
    1. “Invisibility: It’s not voyeurism, it’s research.”
    2. That song. Crazy. I’d be chair-dancing, too.
    3. Love the three blogs you spotlighted as well.

  2. pennyjars says:

    Christi,

    I was thinking maybe I could start writing ad copy for superpowers, but invisibility is as far as I’ve gotten.

    You have to check out more of their music, especially “Start wearing purple”.

    And you’re right, they’re great blogs and @2KoP has done wonders with the meme.

    Thanks again, loads of fun here 🙂

Leave a comment