Not Quite Odysseus Yet

“There is a time for many words, and there is also a time for sleep.” Homer, The Odyssey   

I’m heading out. Physically, I’ll be on the road Saturday morning to visit Dad down in the Ozarks. It’s a 10 hour trip we imagine will take about 12 with two fidgety hoppers in the back seat, but I plan for them–coloring pages, electronic games, pillows and car snacks–and we’ll survive with a run-around picnic near the St. Louis arch and river boats.

Roadside America is my kind of place.

On the flip side, I’m heading out of the social nets for a while too. Remember that super secret freak out project I’m working on? Yeah, well, I haven’t started it.

But, I’m feeling really good about it.

And I need to remove virtual distractions as much as possible so I can actually focus. The onset of autumn usually spurs me to write, but the siren songs– Twitter/Facebook/Google+ –are tricky to avoid in such aggravated water. So I will be putting on my earmuffs and tethering myself to the mast. Land ho!

If you wonder how things are going, drop me an email. Throw Me Thursdays are too fun to avoid, unless I’m flailing somewhere near Scylla and Charybdis, so I guess I’ll check in across the board on Thursdays. I LOVE scads of Throw Me suggestions–photos, videos, songs, quotes, CNFTweets, your first born child (with option to return)… Remember, if you’re suggestion gets used you get links from this blog to yours, and #FollowFriday via both Twitter accounts.

Oh, and if you haven’t gotten wind, we’re having a book giveaway for new followers over on Writing Up an Appetite. The catch? We need 100 followers by September 5th. Tell the world and get yourself 3 New Books!

Have yourselves a wonderful weekend, and if it’s three days long where you are, light something on fire for me.

Salud!

About E. Victoria Flynn

E. Victoria Flynn is a mother and a writer living in Southern Wisconsin. Published in a variety of venues, Victoria is currently writing the first in a series of three fantasy novels based on Cornish folklore. When not taking part in a shrieking dance party or engrossed in her own little fictions, Victoria is keen on art, the natural world and people unafraid to explore their own brilliance.
This entry was posted in Dad, father, field trip, road trips, Throw me Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not Quite Odysseus Yet

  1. Beth Hoffman says:

    Enjoy your adventure, Victoria!

  2. eglentyne says:

    Bon Voyage and write dangerously, Victoria! xo -Dani

  3. Victoria says:

    Thanks, Beth and Dani!

  4. Christi Craig says:

    Have a wonderful trip & quiet from the networks. I can’t wait to read all about it 🙂

  5. Have so much fun! I need to disconnect, too. Twitter has seen much less of me and I’m feeling sorry for it, for shame.

Leave a comment